Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Frustrated with a compiler error message

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Frustrated with a compiler error message

I am trying to create the simplest indicator that will just return the value of standard Momentum. The help files show examples that I copied but the code won't compile due to a CS0120 error message that directs me to a Microsoft site that I can't understand. If anyone can help me get past the compiler error, I would appreciate it. This is my first attempt at creating an indicator and this should be a no-brainer.

About the only line of code I inserted was:

double value = Momentum (3) [1]

I just want the Momentum (period = 3) for the previous bar. The error message points to the work Momentum and states:

"An object reference is required for the non-static field, method, or property 'NinjaTrader.Indicator.Indicator.Momentum ()".

I also tried typing in the long text preceding the word Momentum but still get the same error message. I followed the example in the tutorials and this should have been a simple task. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Hello Geneo,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the NinjaTrader Support Forum!

Is the code the following?
    Code:
    double value = Momentum(3)[1];

Comment

Thanks for the reply. However, that is the exact command that gets the error message. When I click on the error message, it highlights the word "Momentum". The error message reads: An object reference is required for the non-static field, method, or property NinjaTrader.Indicator.Indicator.Momemtun (int).

Is there something else I needed to define earlier in the indicator settings?

Comment