Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Indicator Logic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicator Logic

Hello,

This question is about an indicator Logic. I am new to programming. My question is, when you create an indicator and the OnBarUpdate() is executed bar after bar, does the code goes back again to the first candle to recalculate everything from the beginning on every new bar??

Thanks

Originally posted by MillenniumTrader View Post
    Hello,

This question is about an indicator Logic. I am new to programming. My question is, when you create an indicator and the OnBarUpdate() is executed bar after bar, does the code goes back again to the first candle to recalculate everything from the beginning on every new bar??

Thanks
    Not unless you ask it to. It will simply run through the code block sequentially once for each barUpdate.

Comment

Thanks for your response, Is there any special setting for this behavior or it has to be custom coded

Comment

Thanks for your response, Is there any special setting for this behavior or it has to be custom coded
        What special behavior?

Comment

Millennium,

Can you tell us why you need this, perhaps by giving an example? The program does keep track of the data on prior bars in order to make calculations on the current bar.

futurestrack

Comment

Hello MillenniumTrader,

Thank you for your post.

Koganam is correct, OnBarUpdate() would process bar by bar from oldest to newest. If you want to look back over a period of time you would generally use a period to do so. A period such as the one used for the SMA sets the number of bars used for the calculation.