Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Regression Channel + RSI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Regression Channel + RSI

H. E. L. P. !!!

I am attempting to make my first strategy using the Market Wizard. I am not a programmer so at this time I chose not to write the script myself.

I think that I am keeping it real simple but the results have been confusing. To put things in a nut shell, I am seeking to enter a trade when the close price is outside of the Regression Channel and the price crosses over the RSI.

I have set the initial User Defined Inputs to;

RegressionTrue and bool = true,
    RegressionFalse and bool = false.
    Not sure if there is any value in these inputs or not.

SET 1

In the conditions and actions, I have the following conditions;
    Close > Regression Channel
    Cross Below RSI

then...

Enter short 1 contract

SET 2 is the opposite for Long entries

The Profit Targets are set at 40 ticks and the Stop Loss is set at 20 ticks

As you can see, this is a very short strategy. Is it too short?

After running it on Backtest, the results seemed very good. HOWEVER, after connecting here tonight, Sunday night, it is clear that it is not working as intended. With oil (CL), there were many orders opened and canceled where the price was fluctuating a mere 1-3 ticks. I did adjust the backtest settings in my attempt to optimize. The settings can be viewed here. http://screencast.com/t/F1f0fA19LfZ