Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Live execution horribly different from Backtesting

Hi,
    I have a strategy that executes perfectly in backtesting. It enters correctly with the correct # of contracts that were calcuated. It sets the target and stop correctly and exits correctly.
    I started trading (sim) live and the strategy enters at the correct time/price but with 1 contract and not the # calculated in the strategy. Then it sets the stop and target and exits 3 seconds after the entry fo no reason at all.
    Why is the live trading not following the strategy like the backtesting does????
    I am testing on the same contracts.

mlbalch, which contacts and timeframes are you testing this on?

Are there any errors in the log tab when this unexpected behavior occurs?

Are you working already with TraceOrders to debug the realtime order behavior you see?

BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Bertrand,

It is the ES12-09 contract and I am installing trace orders and I started the recorder so I can watch monday. The log looks ok except that the exit order is not supposed to happen.

Comment

Ok, sounds good the trace orders would help you decipher where the exit order came from - I believe we've been throught this via mails, but you're sure strategy vs account positions are in sync as you start it up for live trading, correct?

Comment

Yes on both.

Comment

Ok, then please report back your findings and post the trace orders output so we can take a look. Thanks

Comment

I was just studying the log and I have some questions about it. After the entry,I see the stop and target orders to enter submitted, accepted, and the Target working. On each of the lines it shows Action=Sell Limit price=1057.25 Stop price=0........Then the Stop line has 0 on the Limit and 1047.25 on the stop. I think this is all normal from the looks of it.