Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unable to import ES 03-03: Instrument is not supported by repository

Hello,
    I am new to NT and purchased ES tick data to import into NT. I have a text file named ES 03-03.txt. When I try to import this file I get "Instrument is not supported by repository".

In the instrument drop down 03-03 is not supported anymore. I changed the expiry to ##-## and then tried to import that ticks file. I am not able to import. This is very frustrating. Can you tell how to get around this error. I need to upload a whole bunch of tick data.

I tried deleting the instrument and adding a new ES ##-## to the default list. I also tried resetting the instrument repository.

Thanks,
    PK

PK, welcome to our forums - please set your PC clock a few years back to access the expired contracts, or change the file name and import this data for the current front month contract, or even the continuous one, therefore a filename of ES ##-##.txt
    BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

I decided to go the route of changing the date on the PC itself(The other methods did not work well). Now I am able to load the tick data. Let's say I load ES 03-03. When I load ES 03-06, should I do a merge of the ES 03-03 into the ES 03-06 before loading ES 03-09 data? I am trying to figure out how best to create continuous contract data as I load the historical tick data.

Thanks,
      PK

Originally posted by NinjaTrader_Bertrand View Post
      PK, welcome to our forums - please set your PC clock a few years back to access the expired contracts, or change the file name and import this data for the current front month contract, or even the continuous one, therefore a filename of ES ##-##.txt

Comment

You can take different routes here -

1. Wait on NinjaTrader 7, this will do this automatically for you - http://www.ninjatrader.com/webnew/NT7/NinjaTrader7.html

2. Import all contracts individually and then merge data over in NinjaTrader