Newbie Setup & Use Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Setup & Use Questions

I am new to this product and I am attempting to create a system to automate what I do manually (i guess why we are using this product).

I am attempting to generate a simple script and am able to do so. What I am not sure of is what to do next.

How to I test to see that the script functions as written. I connected to the Sim data, but not seeing anything.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hello captnops,

Instructions to run automated strategies can be found at the links below.

Strategies-tab

Chart

Note that the Simulated Data Feed does not support historical data. If you connect for the first time, you will not see any data initially. Please wait a few minutes and you should see data building in the chart.
    JasonNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi Jason and thanks for the info.

I read through that, but I am not seeing any results, so I may not be setting everything else up correctly.

I was finally able to see some data in the chart using the DOW 30 instrument list and AA (alcoa) instrument.

I created a basic SMA crossover signal that puts a buy arrow on a break above 20 period SMA and applied it to the chart and set the trend selector all the way up.

I am still not seeing the strategy doing anything....

Comment

Please post your code and a screenshot of your chart where you feel its not doing anything. You could just try the SampleMACrossOver strategy too. It will trade whenever the fast period SMA crosses above or below the slow period SMAThank you.
        Josh P.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Does it take quite a while for the chart to populate with bars before you may see anything? I let a chart run for a while and was able to see the bars, but nothing triggered.

Comment

captnops,