Getting "good" historical data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting "good" historical data

I am a newbie to trading and to NT. I want to develop a few strategies and back test them with historical data. Reading the NT forums, it seems that no source of historical data is perfect. i.e. Ask price vs Bid price, gaps in Futures Volume data, insufficient data, wrong time stamps.

Would this be a valid starting place for me - get a demo account (Mirus) for 30 days, set NT to save my data, then use this NT historical data for developing a strategy?

It also appears that unless you have a paid NT (not the free version) you can not use historical data. So once my demo account with Mirus ran out, I would not be able to use my historical data I save from NT, correct ?

Hi,

Thank you for your post.

Please take a look at the following link for more information on datafeed providers and the type of data they offer.

With the Mirus demo, you will be able to access historical data. Once you no longer have an account with Mirus you will not be able to access live data, however, even with the Free Edition License, you will still have access to data collected before the Mirus demo ran out.
    TimNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

That is good new. A question on how to access historical data using free edition.
      I downloaded sample historical data from Disktrader. The date stamp on Disktrader Tick data was 20080330. As YM 03-08 master instrument was not available in NT under sim101, I imported to YM 03-09 successfully and let NT create minute data for me as well. How do I access this historical data in Sim101 ?

Comment

Hi,

I am unable to say how data not native to NinjaTrader will or will not combine with native NinjaTrader data.

With historical data from NinjaTrader, past contracts can be merged in to new ones using the Merge feature.
        More at - http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...ide.html?Merge