Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

IB limitation on historical data requests????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IB limitation on historical data requests????

I just started up Ninjatrader, connected to the IB datafeed(via TWS), it backfilled two ESH0 charts. I then changed one of them to a stock symbol, it backfilled it and charted it. Then I typed another stock symbol on the screen and after a minute this error message popped: "NinjaTrader has reached an IB limitation for historical data requests. IB may reject all historical data requests for the next five minutes: Historical Market Data Services error message: Historical data request pacing violation." I've been using IB datafeed for two years (with Quotetracker), and can run historical backfills all day/all night long without a problem. Can someone explain what this error message is about....and tell me how to fix the problem. John

Hello John,

Unfortunately this error message comes from IB and informs you that you requested too much historical data. This is a limitation of IB and there is no workaround.

Please wait 5 minutes and you will be able to request additional historical data again.
    JasonNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Jason, this makes no sense. I don't get this error message using other softwares, and this only involved three symbols. You're saying that everytime I want to backfill three symbols I'm going to have to wait five minutes before I can backfill another one. That doesn't make any sense and would render the IB datafeed useless to anyone using it. And since I don't have that problem using TWS, ThinkofSwim, or Quotetracker, I'd guess the answer lies somewhere else.

Comment

Could you perhaps have workspaces running in the background that request historical data as well?