Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with Breakout ATM Strategy

Hi,

As I'm relatively new to using ATM I would appreciate whether what I'm trying to do is actually possible.

I'm attempting to manage a range breakout strategy using two BUY STOP orders, one just above the range and the other just below. When they are filled the ATM strategy is set up to create a bracket trade with the long trade having a stop at the entry price for the short trade and vis-versa, this means that only one trade will be in play at once.

Note that the trades operate independently, I don't want one to cancel the other - this is the cause of my grief as below...

Now, I have pretty much got this working except that when one side is filled and its stop is placed at the same price as the still working BUY STOP on the other side they appear to "merge" - I get the indicator with "2S", if I then try and manage this trade it also "manages" the BUY STOP. I created both sides with their own ATM strategy, the same strategy but a different instance.

I hope this makes sense, please let me know if its too confusing as I've had my head in this all day!!

Am I doing something wrong?

Really appreciate any help.

Thanks

Oz

Hello Oz-Dog,

I'm not sure what your'e looking to do. Walk me through your scenario with an example and I should be able to figure it out.

Current Traded Price
    Levels for each buy stop order
    ATM strategy settings for stop loss and profit target.

One thing that was unclear was that you wanted two buy stop orders and then discussed a long trade and a short trade. Is this a reveral at stop?

create a bracket trade with the long trade having a stop at the entry price for the short trade
    Ryan M.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi,

No worries, I suspected that it was making limited sense!