Total newbie seeking help on TA indicators

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total newbie seeking help on TA indicators

Hi, I'm very new to NT, and I would very much appreciate some help in setting up some standard technical indicators.

I'm not sure how Ninjatrader works, but if I am right, Ninjatrader takes live market data feeds and calculates real-time technical indicator values (eg: such as the 8 period MA, 200 period MA, RSI, MACD etc).

However, before I can even start to calculate these values, I will need historical data which can go back as far as 200 days (for a 200 day MA), and if the only data input that goes into is live market data, I would not be able to calculate TA indicator values until I wait 200 days for the SQL file to update itself with 200 days worth of live market data.

Thus, at the very beginning, there has to be a bridging method for me to link up historical data and live/real time data in a data series so as to (a) obtain the current 200 period SMA value (which I need historical data to obtain), and (b) continuously add live market data values to the historical price data series and recalculate the new 200SMA values in real time.

Are there any tutorials or guides on how I can (1) download historical price data (from interactive brokers), (2) include it as part of a file which Ninjatrader uses to calculate TA values, (3) have the file continuously updating itself with live market data and (4) have Ninjatrader recalculating TA values based on the dynamically updating file (which could update as often as every tick)?

Please advise me. Thanks!