Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy not backtesting

Hi,

I'm new to Ninjatrader, so forgive me if this has been answered already before.

This is my setup:

NT7 (latest release)
    MBTrader demo account.

EUR/USD 15 min chart

I'm just testing the program so I compiled a little strategy where if DI+(40) crosses DI-(40) there should be a long entry.
    When I put this in the backtest and hit "run backtest" the screen flickers for a second and then nothing happens. zero results, no progress bar in the control center...nothing...

What am I missing?

Thanks

Hello earhere,

Thank you for your post.

The first question is if your strategy has an enable/disable setting that you can toggle on/off.

If the strategy is enabled then it is down to one or more condition(s) that were not applied correctly.

Also check that you have sufficient amount of historical data for the strategy to calculate the buy/sell triggers.

If none of this is applicable please provide more detail as to the strategy conditions & the settings used in it testing (application).

Thank you,
    ChipNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thanks.

No, no enable on/off switch.

However, when I add the strategy to the control center, and right-click

"strategy performance" - "historical", it does show me some historical trades, with a chart and everything.....

Why why why?

Comment

earhere do you see any error in the log tab as you attempt to backtest it? Are you connected to a data provider as you backtest in the Strategy Analyer, if yes which one?

Would you see the same outcome with our supplied SampleMACrossOver strategy?

Thanks
        BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thank you for the fast replies....excellent Customer service!

I'm not in front of my computer to test the things you asked for, will do this later.
          But quick question:

I think I'm using MB trading for historical data because that's the demo account that I'm connected to.