Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy Analyzer always comes up all zeros

Hello all, Im new here.

I spent a lot of time trying before deciding to post. Im completely new to NT and have tooled around and read all of the portions of the manual that are relevant to what I would like to do (maybe half of it ~400 pages). Im in "free sim mode" so to say. The learning curve.

I have a variety of issues but right now I just want to resolve one.

I want to run a simple back test on a single stock with one of the canned strategies (ie Simple MAcrossover). Naturally I want to do much more than this but I cant get past this learning step.

Ive read the steps and watched the videos.

I have fooled a lot with instruments and data while trying to figure it out. In a nutshell, I have now connected with Yahoo and I was able to add a new instrument and get historical data for it - and created a chart from that.

When I run Strat. Analyzer to back test, I choose this stock (I have also chosen various others from the provided data like within the dow 30) I change the type to Day (Ive also tried weeks and originally had minutes I believe) and change the timeframe to about a year, which is less thnt the data I have for the chart. Ive also tried shorter time frames. Most other stuff Ive left to default I believe.

Ive adjusted eeh fast and slow MAs to make it more likely to cross often just for the sake of testing.

Nothing, nothing, nothing. When I hit Run Back Test is takes about asplit second and shows me all zeros.

The only log events are my data connect and reconnect (I previously used external feed and Kinec-whatever that recomended one is).

Help a noob out if you can,

Meegwell

Meegwell,

Please attach your strategy so someone can run it and look at the results.

TJ

Comment

Meegwell,

This may be overly simplistic but how are you selecting the stock and running the backtest?