Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Optimization for NinjaTrader

Hello Traders!

I am a novice when it comes to Ninja Trader: demo so far, from mid-July by real account, so with real money.

Hardware: Laptop Sony Vaio, 4GB RAM, Intel Core Duo, 2009
    Firewall: WIN 7 32 bit
    Antivirus: Avira Free Antivirus
    Datafeed: Zenfire
    Charts: Tick and Renko
    Router: Wireless connection with good quality
    Internet: download 1772 kbps, upload 224 kbps (no high-spead, but small DSL)

Other open programs:
    Skype, Outlook, Excel, OneNote, Firefox, Windows Explorer, SPAMfighter, Dropbox, Mobile Partner, RIM, TeamSpeak.

Services:
    SPM, SSMM, Java.

Now I have a few questions about the installation and optimization of the Ninja Trader:

1. Avira Free Antivirus: This really affected my data feed? Zenfire? Charting? Data packets? Time delay?
    2. Win 7 Firewall: same questions as above.
    3. Wireless LAN: the same questions as above.
    4. Bluetooth Mouse: the same questions as above.

I'm interested in now is not the recommendations "in everything give up what is not operating system or Ninja Trader", but the actual effects / changes that I get when I delete these four functions, as well as the "unnecessary" services, and my programs that I the same need - on the same laptop. I am not interested to buy a second computer.

Thank you!

Best regards,
    Rainbowtrader
    Last edited by Rainbowtrader; 06-26-2012, 02:12 AM.

Welcome to our forums Rainbowtrader.

1. See if you can turn of the realtime stream filtering
    2. Should not have much impact, but if you're router has a good firewall build in, likely duplicate efforts.
    3. We would suggest using a cable based connection for optimal results
    4. Should be fine
    BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi Bertrand,

thanks for the friendly welcome!