Chart not plotting with simulated data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chart not plotting with simulated data

I'm new to NinjaTrader and am currently trying out the platform using a simulated data feed for ES 09-12. Over the past week or so I've used it twice with no problems. The simulated data has run for 4-5 hours with several indicators (Bollinger, MACD, Vol, etc.). Most of the settings I've left at the default values.

The second time I used the simulated data, it appeared to "stall" for about 10 minutes but then "came back". Everything appeared to be okay except for the jump in the time stamp.

Today, I started the data feed like usual, it ran for about 20 minutes then "stalled" again but this time it didn't come back. I have tried re-starting NT (several times), selecting different markets, changing some of the settings, re-starting the computer......nothing has worked. I reviewed some of the other feeds and tried re-compiling but that didn't produce any errors. The rest of the forum questions seem to be more applicable to custom indicators or issues with the feed from live providers.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm trying to decide if I'll be moving forward with NT which I like so far but glitches like this that can cost me money definitely do not make me happy.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Elysium,

The simulated data feed isn't real market data, its just randomly generated to sort of approximate market data on your PC, a real time connection would behave a bit differently. One thing to note here is that it will still use the session template that your chart is setup to use, so if you are using this on a weekend and your session template doesn't have the weekend included it won't display this data on your chart.

Please right click your chart > go to "Data Series" > Set "Session Template" to "Default 24/7". Then, please let me know if you still have the issue.
    Adam P.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi AdamP,