Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Chart stepping: tick-by-tick or bar-by-bar possible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chart stepping: tick-by-tick or bar-by-bar possible?

Hi all,

I'm new to NT. I have a software development background, and know C#.

I'm wondering if it's possible to see a chart get updated on each tick or bar. My interest is mainly for development, so I can see the graphical output of an Indicator at various points along the chart, before it reaches the end and its final appearance/state.

Possible? I've been relying on writing selected Indicator values to a file as a midway snapshot, then opening them in perl/python to generate a chart. Takes too much time, I'd really like to find a solution within NT.

Thanks,
    -Plaus

Hello,

Thank you for your post and welcome to our forums!

Most of the calculation of a NinjaScript indicator are done in the OnBarUpdate() event handler, which can be called with every new bar, or on each coming tick, depending on your CalculateOnBarClose settings.

Please see our Help Guide article on OnBarUpdate() for more information:

If you're familiar with C#, you should find NinjaScript very easy use. We have a fully documented help guide which will help you get started with Ninja Script. You will find language references to all of the methods and functions you will be using. You will also see a tutorial section which will help you create your first indicator and get you started with some of these concepts.

A link to our Help Guide can be found below: http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...stribution.htm
    MatthewNinjaTrader Product Management

Comment

Thanks for your swift reply, @NinjaTrader_Matthew.

I have seen that OnBarUpdate() is the main event handler for customization during chart drawing.

What I hope to get from this thread is whether it's possible to see the chart at any arbitrary point in CurrentBar, preferably interactively.