Problem using ATI external data feed with indices

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problem using ATI external data feed with indices

Having searched the forum I have come across similar problems to this, but nothing exactly the same, and no solutions either. I'm new to both NinjaTrader and this forum, so if the answer is readily available somewhere else please point me in the right direction.

The external market data in this case is for FX/CFDs rather than futures. I can successfully feed ticks from an external source into NT via NTDirect.dll, as long as the instrument in question is a currency pair. I just fill in the blank "External" slot in the symbol map of one of the predefined instruments, and external EURUSD is mapped to $EURUSD internally and things work as expected.

However if I use exactly the same procedure to map external DAX30 to internal ^DAX no ticks are seen in NT. Late Friday tech support suggested adding a "^" to my external symbol but that doesn't seem to help.

Note that I can map DAX30 to $EURUSD successfully, so an obvious short term workaround exists!

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Hello SoulSurfer,
    Welcome to the forum and I am happy to assist you.

Adding "^" as a prefix before the symbol name while sending the quotes from your custom application would work for any index script.

If you create a new symbol for DAX30 and then try to append the quotes then can you get the quotes.
    Attached Files
    JoydeepNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi Joydeep,

Originally posted by NinjaTrader_Joydeep View Post
      If you create a new symbol for DAX30 and then try to append the quotes then can you get the quotes.
      That's pretty much what I tried first of all, before trying to feed my external ticks into an pre-existing symbol. Mind you, I've discovered one or two tricks of the NT trade since then. I'll give your suggestion another try, and let you know how I get on.

Thanks,

Jim

Comment

Hi Joydeep,