# of Months tested: 11
    Cum. Profit: 69%
    Percent Profitable: 57.18%
    Sharpe Ratio: 1.85
    Ratio W/L: 2.11
    Commission: True
    Slippage: None
    Max Drawdown: -1.31%

I have been optimizing this strategy since starting systems trading in August of this year. I have to laugh when I compare my original trading strategy to this one. I am not sure what I enjoy more writing code to increase the numbers above or actually trading. Live trading results have been similar to the numbers above - so far so good.

Since I am new to systems trading I am curious to see the honest backtest results of the other members as well as their comments of course.

Looking forward to your replies.
    Last edited by NFT-Trader; 11-28-2012, 09:20 PM.

Originally posted by NFT-Trader View Post
    Profit Factor: 2.79
    # of Trades: 376

I have been optimizing this strategy since starting systems trading in August of this year. I have to laugh when I compare my original trading strategy to this one. I am not sure what I enjoy more writing code to increase the numbers above or actually trading. Live trading results have been similar to the numbers above - so far so good.

Since I am new to systems trading I am curious to see the honest backtest results of the other members as well as their comments of course.

Run your optimizer on the extremely simple Strategy posted at this link, and let us see what you can come up with. ref: http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...catid=5&id=379

Comment

Profit Factor: 1.41
      # of Trades: 756
      Cum. Profit: 44.52%
      Percent Profitable: 44.44%
      Sharpe Ratio: 1.05
      Ratio W/L: 1.79
      Max Drawdown: -7.19%

Koganam, I optimized your suggested strategy and the best results under my instrument conditions are listed above. Your system started breaking down in the last three months.
      Last edited by NFT-Trader; 11-28-2012, 10:52 PM.

Comment

Simple Spreadsheet for Evaluating Strategies