Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Slow analyzing

Hello,

How quickly should a strategy analyzer work? Of course this depends on the period and amount of parameters, but when i test my automated strategy over a full year, with around 80 trades, and have 4 parameters selected to vary in a large range; this willl take 23 hours!

My compu is slow and 8 years old. Now I have a subscription to a VPS with unlimited GB memory and unlimlited amount of processors! It will though only use one processor and about 4.0 GB. It only took once all 4 for a limited time.

My IT man states that NT platform probably is only set up to use just one processor and thus limites the speed.

Can someone shine some light on this issue.

Thanks

Rob

Hello,

You are right, this will depend greatly on the strategy being used along with the time period being backtested.

Are you using tick or minute data?

23 hours sounds much longer than expected for a strategy not running any optimizations. Can you verify this is a single backtest and not an optimization?

Additionally if possible you will want to use the 64bit version of NinjaTrader as this will allow more than the <4Gigs of RAM cap 32bit windows systems have.

How long does it take when you run a basic strategy such as SampleMACrossOver?

I look forward to assisting you further.
    LanceNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Sorry,

this is an optimization of course. It uses tick data.I tried earlier the 64 bit but the script wouldn't load. I know there are a few thing that i need to do, in order to get this script to load on a 64 bit as well, no time yet.

A std strategy over a year ( a backtest) takes about 10 minutes

Rob

Comment

Hello,

When your optimization is running, open the Windows Task Manager (CTRL-ALT-DELETE -> Start Task Manager)
        Click the Performance tab and Note the CPU usage over your cores. You will likely see all of them being close to maxed.