Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Data for backtests

Hello,

I'm new to ninjatrader. Before starting using a live data feeder I would like to run some backtests on several instruments (ym, es, cl, ng, zc., zb, ...).

My strategies need at least a 1-min bar data, preferably tick data, for the longest time available.

Is this data available for free or I have to subscribe to a data feeder?

Thanks

Hello gonilho,

Please note that we are not a data feed provider ourselves. You will need to connect to a supported data feed provider to receive data in NinjaTrader.

We do provide the Kinetick Free EOD (end-of-day) connection by default in NinjaTrader. It will provide historical daily data only, so it will allow you to backtest just on daily data. You can find the free Kinetick connection at Control Center-->File-->Connect.

See the link below under 'Understanding the data provided by your connectivity provider' which will list all supported data feed providers and what data they support.

The matrix will list 'data feeds only' such as Kinetick and DTN IQFeed, but it lists broker technologies as well such as Zen-Fire and CQG.

The broker technologies can only be used if you have an account at a supported broker partner that uses the broker technology in question. They will provide data in NinjaTrader and will allow you to trade your account at your broker.

The 'data feeds only' will only provide data in NinjaTrader. You will need to have a subscription with one of these data providers to obtain login information, which you enter upon creating a connection.

As per NinjaTrader 7, our preferred market data service is Kinetick. Real time service starts as low as $50 per month. If you trade CME Globex products, you can have these exchange fees waived if you have a qualified brokerage account. This service is only available for NinjaTrader 7. Please visit www.kinetick.com for more detailed information.