How to put a time limit on orders sent from TradeStation to NT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to put a time limit on orders sent from TradeStation to NT

I am new to NT and apologize if this question is ridiculously obvious.

I would like to implement a simple X minute time limit on each order received from tradestion so that if the limit order is not filled within X minutes, that order is just cancelled by NT with the broker.

How can I do this as a simple rule within NT and not have to rely on extensive back and forth communications between the TS and NT that in this case will be residing on seperate machines?

Thanks,

Joe

If you are using the Email Interface this is not possible. Its only possible to convert the limit to market after X seconds.

Using the DLL interface this is possible since you will control the submission and cancellation of orders from within your own EL code.
    RayNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Ray,

Thanks for the quick reply.

I will be using the DLL implementation with TS and NT residing on seperate machines within a local network. I am aware that I could label the individual orders, track them, and then send individual cancellation orders for each within the EL, the point of my question was how to implement a simple time limit on each order sent to NT within NT so that each order just expires after X minutes of time has elapsed.

The intention is to use NT to handle the profit and loss stops on positions once entered, I am under the impression that is one of the purposes of this software. I just want to know how to also instruct NT to cancel any orders that it successfully transmitted to the broker but that have not been filled within let's say three minutes. I want this done by NT on the NT machine, not dependent on back and forth communications to the TS machine.