Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need to code - Ninjatrader

Hi,
    I have a couple of strategies which i wish to automate.

I am a novice in this field, but generally good with algorithms

I would prefer to code in C#/C++, and then integrate it with ninjatrader.

Things i would need to get started

1.) Level 1 tick data.
    2.) Getting all the data into variables - mainly bid offer , last price, volume traded and time stamp.

Initially i dont need the strategy to go live, just want to test it on historical data/ paper trade on live data. so latency need not be an issue.

I have a rthmic data connection, and can get past historical data from ninjatrader.

What is the best way to get started, and how can i go about this.

Any help would be appreciated,
    Thanks

Hello nemesis45,

NinjaScript is C# based language so it will be very similar.

The best place to start coding an automated strategy would be to use the Strategy Wizard, which will have a point and click interface to create a basic strategy that you can view the source code of the strategy to see how it is being written. To access the Strategy Wizard you may go to the Tools -> New NinjaScript -> Strategy option.

The Strategy Wizard can only do basic strategies so if your algorithms cannot be placed inside of the Strategy Wizard then you may unlock the strategy for some custom coding.

We have documented all of the supports methods and objects of NinjaScript inside of our Help Guide that you may view for reference at the following link.

This should help you get started on an Automated Strategy, let us know if any questions come up.
    JCNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

thanks a lot,
      i will go through the help guide.

this should get me started

Comment

hi

Never mind.
        Is there any advanced help or extra resources which i can refer to?

Basically all i want to do is put data like - Last price, volume at every print, along with Bid/offer sorted into variables.