Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

compare indicator to a value

Hi everyone

I'm trying to compare the range indicator values to specific number.
    What i want to do is take an action if the range of the candle is greater or equal for example 5pips.
    So, in the strategy wizard, i name the range as "RangeSize", with 5 as default value.
    In the next step, the condition builder, "set1, add," i cliked on the range indicator, and want to compare it to my range size value, but it's impossible to select "RangeSize".
    So, here is my question. As i want range size to be an input in my strategy that i can change as i want, and range indicator, the indicator that measure the size of the range of each candle, i want to be able to take the value of the range size indicator, and compare it with a defined number, that's all for the moment. I don't know why it doesn't work, just maybe because i'm a newbie and i don't know how to do it.
    Thanks for help, you can see attached pictures of what i'm talking about.
    If you can help, you're welcome, and if you can attach images, it'll be good too.

thanks everyone!
    Attached Files

Hello josker1,

That is a User Defined Input. Meaning that nothing will show up below when highlighted. What will happen is when you go to test the strategy, you will see an option to change that value which will then be tested in the logic of the strategy.
    Cal H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Oh yeah, i didn't tried to validate even if the user defined value didn't go in the lower panel as the indicator. Thanks
      What i did is i tried to put in the actions to plot something in blue if a candle's range equal or is greater than 3pips, to help me know the strategy is working, but i don't get nothing blue on my chart.
      Attached is what i did , and if you have time to help me, and modify what is wrong i'll be very glad with that. This will help me know what was wrong with my approach.

Thanks