Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How to exit all directional positions when reversal signal is triggered?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to exit all directional positions when reversal signal is triggered?

Hello, I'm very new to ninja, do not have a clue when it comes to programming, so I am trying to put a strategy together using the strategy wizard screen.

So far I have condition set A which triggers a bullish trade, and condition set B which triggers a bearish trade. Each direction could trigger up to 3 trades.

What I need help with is figuring out how to exit all trades once a reversal signal is triggered before price hits the stop losses of the remaining open trades.

For example, if I have 2 bullish trades remaining open, and they have not hit their targets or their stop losses yet, but a reversal signal is acknowledged, how can I set it on strategy wizard to exit all remaining open bull trades and replace it with a new bear trade?

thanks!

Hello gubbar924,

Thank you for the question I will be happy to help out.

When you use the Strategy wizard, you are by default using the Managed Strategy approach.

What this means is that NinjaTrader will try to do what is best when you call your entries or exits in the wizard.

In your case what you are trying to do is close out any positions that you may have open when the reversal condition happens.

For your example, in either direction if you call an Exit for the type of order without a signal name or quantity this will exit all positions in that direction.

Here is an example of how to use this

In your wizard you have a condition which puts you into a long position by using the EnterLong()

Next you want to exit this position for all open long positions when your reversal signal happens, to do this you would want to use ExitLong() and specify no entry signal or quantity. This would exit all open long positions.