Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to set a sell limit at 1 ATR above the high of the entry candle

Hi there again,

Sorry about all the threads, but I am not good at the Strategy Analyzer at all.

I am trying to set my profit target at 1 ATR above the high of the candle that I entered the trade in.

Any idea of how to do this?

Thanks so much!

Hello,

Thank you for the question.

For this, you could use a User Variable to hold a price that would be used for the profit target.

The user variable would need to be set by a condition.

For example if you were to open the Set1 and click add and set the following:

Choose strategy -> current market position == strategy -> Long

click ok and then in the bottom window click add and choose:

misc -> set userDefinedVariable and set Variable0 to Price Data -> Close with a bars ago of 1.

Now when you set your profit target, choose variable 0 as its tick amount.

Please let me know if I may be of additional assistance.
    JesseNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Yes but how would it know to set a sell order at the ATR of the high for instance:

If the current ATR is 0.5, and the high of the entry candle is 2001.5, my target will be 2001.5 plus ATR of 0.5 = 2002......how will the program know to exit at 2002?

Comment

Hello,

For the profit target, once it is set NinjaTrader would submit the order for that price that you defined in the logic.

The profit target specifically would trigger an exit short limit at the price you specify it to be at.

So in this situation if your logic determines that your profit target price should be High of the entry candle plus the ATR value, once you set that value thats what would be submitted as a profit target order. If the price reaches this level NinjaTrader would recognize that and complete the order or any conditions associated with that value.