Issue about dual connections

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Issue about dual connections

I am a NinjaTrader coder with several hundred people using my software.

One of my customers has an Interactive Brokers live trading account through which he must place live trades.

The InteractiveBrokers data feed isn't so good, so he has subscribed to IQFeed for their data.

In NinjaTrader, he is connecting first to IQFeed and then to Interactive Brokers. When he does it in this way, the data seems to come reliably from IQFeed and he seems to be able to trade on Interactive Brokers.

However, during high-volume times such as market open, his charts will freeze. The freeze is NOT happening to the other several hundred people using the same charting software, so I know the issue is unique to the situation where he is connected to IQFeed and Interactive Brokers at the same time.

Since the instruments he trades (NQ and CL) have a datafeeds available from both IQFeed and Interactive Brokers, is it possible that NinjaTrader is trying to feed DOUBLE data into each chart, running his computer's cpu at double the intensity of other traders using the same charts?

What are the other possible issues that could crop up in NinjaTrader?

I would really like to be able to go to the instrument manager, and for each instrument, select which connection to use for data and which connection to use for trading.

How can I go about trouble-shooting this issue?

thanks / Ben

Specifically, can I force NinjaTrader to use IQFeed for the data and only use InteractiveBrokers for placing orders?

Comment

Hello,

Thank you for writing in.

When connecting to 2 different connections that both supply the same data, the one connected to first is where the data is pulled from. There are no conflicts in this regard.