Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with trailing stops

Hello,
    I'm a newbie in programming. I'm currently working on automating a strategy. I'm stuck on the trailing stop part of it.
    I do not have a hard profit target, but what I do have is a trailing stop being placed, when a certain condition occurs.

Here is my code snippet:

if ((Position.MarketPosition == MarketPosition.Long)

&&(CrossBelow(Stochastics(BarsArray[1],3, 5, 2).K, 65, 1))
    &&(Falling(Stochastics(BarsArray[2],3, 5, 2).K) == true))

{
    BarColor = Color.Gold;
    SetStopLoss(CalculationMode.Price, Low[0] - 5 * TickSize);
    }

It basically paints a candle a certain color(simply for visual aid, while i'm working on the strategy) and places a stop loss 5 ticks under the low. However, I want the stop loss to move up with each candle after it has been placed. What currently happens, the stop gets placed and just sits there until the next similar condition occurs in the trend. Only then it moves. Does anyone have any ideas on how i can make it move up with each candle?

Hi Mikethelen,

Rather than using SetStopLoss(), you will want to use SetTrailStop(). SetTrailStop() includes the same overloads as SetStopLoss(), so you can pass in the same values that you are currently using. Keep in mind that if you are calling SetStopLoss() anywhere else on the same trade, it could conflict with this particular call to SetTrailStop().

For more information on this method, please see the help guide article below:

Please let me know if I can assist further.
    Dave I.NinjaTrader Product Management

Comment

I tried that and it only enters one trade and rides it for a week, while ignoring all the conditions.I do not have a stop loss anywhere else. I have a trail stop in the initialize method in order to reset it after flat.

Comment

Hi Mikethelen,