Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to creating indicators

Hello,

Is there any reason why a custom indicator can't reference any bars back before [1]?

This is my first try at coding an indicator...I took the default CCI indicator and gutted it (it was the most basic) and started experimenting with things. I was working on calculations involving the last three bars, and trial and error revealed that once I added the third bar back, I got a blank panel. I eliminated everything else and just tried to plot the RSI of three bars ago and still got a blank panel

This is probably very obvious to veteran indicator coders out there, but I'm stumped.

Code:
                            if (CurrentBar == 0)
    				Value.Set(0);
    			else
    			{
    				double mean = 0;
    				for (int idx = Math.Min(CurrentBar, Period - 1); idx >= 0; idx--)
    					mean += Math.Abs(Typical[idx] - SMA(Typical, Period)[0]);
    				//Value.Set((Typical[0] - SMA(Typical, Period)[0]) / (mean == 0 ? 1 : (0.015 * (mean / Math.Min(Period, CurrentBar + 1)))));

Value.Set(RSI(14,3)[2]);
    			}

Hello,

This is most likely because there is no check for data in this script.

You have a check for the bar 0 but the bars after are not checked if there is enough data.

What you can do, is instead of:

Code:
     if (CurrentBar == 0)
    	Value.Set(0);

Code:
    if(CurrentBar < 3)
    {
    Value.Set(0);
    return;
    }
    This sets 0 to the plot, but then returns after until at least 3 bars are on the chart, then you can access 3 bars ago without any error.

I look forward to being of further assistance.
    JesseNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Bingo, thanks!

Is it possible to plot two different lines based on two completely different calculations/input sources in the same indicator?

Comment

Hello,

Yes that is certainly possible,

you will need to add an additional Plot to do this.

Currently you are using Value.Set which sets the default or plot at index 0.