Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Newbie here- what do I need to chart these indicators?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here- what do I need to chart these indicators?

Hi traders,

I have started my trading journey and I am finding that I'm unable to figure out certain things, I hope that you can help me out . I apologize ahead of time if this is in the wrong spot, I figured I can't get my charts to populate properly so it makes sense to me to stick it here (but I'm a newbie).

My plan
    I'm looking to trade as if 'I was in the moment' starting about 5-10 years ago (or whatever time frame is reasonable / economical). Meaning I want to replay every day through NinjaTrader's simulation until I can develop my technique. I plan on trading ES and CL.

Here are the following indicators I am looking to chart
    • Volume profile
    • Market profile
    • Range
    • Average True Range
    • Volume Weighted Average Price
    • Relative Volume
    • Volume

What I need help with
    1. Where can I get the right datafeed that will allow me to populate all of these indicators? I don't care about current data, but historical data. Dating as far back as economically possible
    2. What are some cheap places to get this data? Is there somewhere I can pay a one-time fee as opposed to recurring monthly subscription?
    3. I'm told that I need tick data as opposed to minute data, is that true?
    4. Is it possible to 'replay the past'? If so, how do I set that up properly?

Thanks in advance for your help, your advice will help get an aspiring trader off the ground!

-Mark

Hello Mark,

We support the following data feed providers in NinjaTrader.

Kinetick

DTN IQFeed

BarChart