Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How to Obtain Accurate Historical Tick Data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to Obtain Accurate Historical Tick Data

Hello,

I am new to Ninja Trader and back testing programmed strategies. I am learning day to day.

I hope my question is not too simple.

I read this in the help files "During a backtest you can select conservative or liberal fill algorithms which will produce different results. Fills are determined based on 4 data points, OHLC of a bar since that is the only information that is known during a backtest."

All my trading strategies I want to back test are on the 3 minute candle stick chart. Basic breakout strategy, buy/sell on a calculated entry/stop/profit target price. So using the OHLC 4 data points will not help much.

Questions:
    1. How can I obtain high resolution historical data to use with the Strategy Analyzer?

2. Do I need to purchase a data feed from here https://ninjatrader.com/support/help..._strategy.htm?

3. When I am running my strategy in back test do I select 3 min like on the attachment?

4. What is the purpose of 1 second bar chart like in the attachment? And can this somehow help me with obtaining the tick data feed I need rather then buying data.

Thanks,
    Attached Files
    Last edited by simple_goodoboy; 02-22-2017, 10:22 PM.

Originally posted by simple_goodoboy View Post
    I read this in the help files "During a backtest you can select conservative or liberal fill algorithms which will produce different results. Fills are determined based on 4 data points, OHLC of a bar since that is the only information that is known during a backtest."