Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Trying to create a Draw.Text from within another drawing tool

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to create a Draw.Text from within another drawing tool

Hello everyone,

I am an experienced programmer, but I am new to Ninjatrader development and I am trying to add additional Text-Boxes to the newly added "Path" drawing tool. An example mock-up of what I want to achieve can be seen here.

So I have created my own drawing tool and basically copied the code of the Path tool over to my new tool and changed it's name appropriately. Everything is working fine so far. My new drawing tool behaves exactly like the Path tool and works fine.
    Now I wanted to add the automatic drawing of the text to it by using one of the Draw.Text constructors.
    However, the Text class needs an 'Owner' parameter, and since DrawingTools are apparently not derived from NinjaScriptBase, I was trying to just pass along the owner of my own drawing tool by using this.DrawnBy

This is the exact line of code that I am using:
    Code:
    Draw.Text(this.DrawnBy, "Test", dataPoint.Price.ToString("0.00000"), 10, dataPoint.Price);
    Sadly, this doesn't work and throws an Assertion for a Null-Argument.

After some digging, I found out that this.DrawnBy is always NULL.

So here are my questions:
    - Why is the DrawnBy attribute of my DrawingTool never set?
    - Is there another way to get an appropriate NinjaScriptBase reference from within a drawing tool?
    - Is there any easier way to effectively chain two DrawingTools together so I can combine their functionality (just like I want to do with this tool)