Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Strategy Analyzer Add-On Idea

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy Analyzer Add-On Idea

Hi NT Support,

I have an idea for an add-on that I'd like a feasibility check on.

Current Experience
    Whenever I run a backtest or optimization in the strategy analyzer, I like to take notes about what I expect to happen. I throw these notes in Evernote and it has been working out.

Desired Experience
    However, I'm wondering if it's possible to extend the Strategy Analyzer so that whenever I run an optimization, a text entry dialog appears and upon saving the entry, the text gets put into the notes for this specific run.

I'm a software engineer, and believe that anything's possible. But want to know if there's a pattern for doing these type of extensions. Because easier is better than harder

Thanks,
    Wayne

Hello wadams,

Thanks for opening the thread.

We do get asked every now and then if optimization results could be fetched by NinjaScript. It would certainly be possible as it is now to have a strategy create an AddOn window with with a text dialog that integrates with another application, but there currently is not a way a strategy can report optimization results because the strategy itself is being iterated by the optimizer.

As far as feasibility goes: Yes, the Strategy Analyzer would need to be extended to support this kind of behavior.

EDITED: See post 3 for details.