Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Line that trails price bars by a set number of ticks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Line that trails price bars by a set number of ticks

I would like to create a line that trails the price bars by a set number of ticks (which can also be adjusted later during optimization process).

Then when price reverses and closes past that line in the opposite direction a trade will be triggered in the new direction.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on the most effective way to do that. I'm just starting to learn how to use the Strategy Builder so I don't know much yet.

I've been studying the documentation and have watched some videos but would like to find something more thorough. Any suggestions about books, tutorials or a training course?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forums tmillr!

First and foremost, please be aware of the publicly available Strategy Builder resources below.

Strategy Builder 301 (publicly available resource) — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KQF2Sv27oE

Conditions examples —https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...on_builder.htm

Actions examples — https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...us/actions.htm

For drawing specifically, please see the section below.

You wont be able to check properties of the line with your conditions, but you would be able to assign values to a variable the same way you would adjust a horizontal line to be drawn at a certain price. You can create User Defined Inputs for a "distance" from current price and use this distance to offset from the current Close price.