Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Market Analyzer - List gaps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Market Analyzer - List gaps

I would like to have a column in the Market Analyzer that shows if an instrument opens with a gap. I have no experience coding especially for the Market Analyzer, so any advice would be be appreciated.

I tried making a simple indicator that would plot a line and that I could use the value of that line in the Market Analyzer, but I can't get it to work.

This is the calculation:

GapLine[0] = (Open[0]-Close[1])/(Close[1])*100;

It should show a percentage value of the gap, positive or negative depending of the direction of the gap.

Hello chrille,

Thank you for writing in.

To make values calculated in your indicator available for display in the market analyzer column, you should reference the SMA indicator preloaded on NinjaTrader. This demonstrates setting a calculated value to a plot, which the MA can reference.

To add a column to market analyzer which will display this value, right click on the market analyzer window>columns>then click Add and select your indicator.

See our Helpguide on How to Add columns:
    NT8: http://ninjatrader.com/support/helpG...th_columns.htm

I set up an indicator with a plot and set the value to the plot to 1 if there is a gap, 0 if no gap. So within the MA window you’ll see this and can set up alerts accordingly. Note: I defined a gap as an open above or below the previous bars high/low, so you would want to modify the code for what you’re looking for. See attached.

Please let us know if you need further assistance.
    Attached Files
    Alan P.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

NinjaTrader_AlanP,