Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How to read a number below or above a bar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to read a number below or above a bar

I have a custom indicator developed by a vendor which sometimes plots a number in blue above or below the bar. I want to detect when the number is placed in blue and based on that I want to build a strategy. I am basically a Metatrader developer and have no idea how to detect and read this in NinjaTrader 8

Can someone please help, is it possible?

Hello abhay,

Thanks for your post.

Strategies typically reference data from indicators through plots that are added in the indicator with AddPlot(). The strategy can then reference these plots in their own logic. A plot will be a public Series<double> which would essentially be a series of values. There isn't a good way to check the brush color of a plot externally, so the best course of action would be if the strategy had a separate plot or a public Series<bool> that could tell you if that plot is one color or another.

I'll include some information on plots, how they can be referenced in a strategy and how public variables can be used to expose values from an indicator and used in a strategy. I would suggest reaching out to the vendor directly to inquire if they have plots that you could use from the indicator, or if there is any other advice they can give for building strategies with their product.

Demo - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Qxn...w?usp=drivesdk

AddPlot() - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...s/?addplot.htm

Exposing indicator values that aren't plots - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...alues_that.htm