Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

When to use addDataSeries vs SessionIterator (& vice versa) - PriorDayOHLC as example

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When to use addDataSeries vs SessionIterator (& vice versa) - PriorDayOHLC as example

So, I've been developing with NT8 for a few months now, slowly building my understanding of NT, but I've kind of hit a wall regarding a couple fundamental questions of how to handle multiple timeframes:

Recently, I started out by using addDataSeries to add the daily timeframe to my indicator (which uses 60-minute bars for the primary data series). This led to a situation where the 'daily' price data I was working with always ended one hourly-bar too early. After some research I understood that I must need to bring in a SessionIterator to fix this issue, but it was then that I realized that in NT's default PriorDayOHLC script multi-timeframes are achieved without any addDataSeries calls at all, and just done solely with SessionIterator!

So at this point I wondering if multi-timeframes can done without addDataSeries - then why ever use addDataSeries at all? (my guess is that there ARE cases where one cannot get by with merely SessionIterator to achieve their multi-timeframe goals, but I'm at a complete loss to know which situation those are. Ultimately, I'm betting that I'm fairly 'turned-around/confused')

If someone with more knowledge of addDataSeries vs SessionIterator could spill some of it here and set me right it would be very much appreciated. (particularly in regard to when to use one vs the other, and/or if SessionIterator always has to accompany an addDataSeries call)
    Last edited by Calebg; 02-13-2019, 01:47 PM.