Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

StrategyAnalyzer clearing output window without ClearOutpuWindow call

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the platform. The output window is being cleared every time I run the strategy analyzer. Obviously this makes it hard to debug things since the print logs just disappear when the run is complete. I had run the ClearOutputWindow in a strategy script a few weeks ago, but my current strategy does not have that call in it. Can someone help or point me at other places to look? I saw this old thread which says this should not occur.

Thanks.

Hello mohawkTrader, thanks for your post.

It sounds like ClearOutPutWindows is still being called somewhere either in the script you are working on or another script. If you have Visual Studio (VS) installed, you can click the Visual Studio icon at the top on a NinjaScript editor to open up the custom project. Once opened in VS, you can search the project for the syntax "ClearOutputWindow" to see where/if it is being called anywhere in another script. I believe the Windows search function will work in a similar way, navigate to Documents\NinjaTrader 8\bin\Custom and search for "ClearOutputWindow".

I look forward to hearing of your results.
    Chris L.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hey thanks. I commented it out of a two other strategy scripts and that fixed the issue. I guess I thought that only the current strategy script (run in the analyzer) would affect the output window as that's the code that's executed. Not sure why this is the case, but I can look at the output now either way. Thanks!

Comment

Hi mohawkTrader, Im glad you were able to sort that out.

See the NinjaScript lifecycle help guide page. There are times during runtime of NinjaTrader where the OnStateChanged method is run for all scripts compiled within the NT custom DLL. This is to populate UI lists and other internal housekeeping. The logic was likely running in the other scripts due to this principle.