No idea how to run strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No idea how to run strategy

I am new to NT8 and I'm trying to build a test strategy with extremely simple parameters just to figure out how to use strategies.

I created a strategy for /ES. If the price changes, it should enter a strategy (just for testing). I have enabled the strategy but it's not entering any trades. I have no idea what I'm doing, but any help would be awesome. Thanks

Hello Lumbeezl,

Thanks for opening the thread.

There is some introductory information as well as some in depth information on using NinjaScript strategies that should be referenced in order to fully understand how NinjaScripts function and how they can be enabled. I recommend reviewing this information and testing with the SampleMACrossover strategy to observe how NinjaScripts work.

Running NinjaScript Strategies (Please see Running NinjaScript Strategies from a Chart and Running NinjaScript Strategies from the Control Center) - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...strategies.htm

The Strategies tab will show green for enabled strategies that are allowed to trade live and orange for strategies that use Wait Until Flat and are in a virtual position from historical processing. Please see the Strategy Position vs. Account position documentation in the link above for more information on these differences as well as the Syncing Account Positions page for more information on Start Behaviors.

Reference on the Strategies tab can be found here - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...eStrategiesTab

After familiarizing yourself with how Strategies operate and how they can be used, I would then recommend looking into creating your own strategies. We have some video tutorials on the NinjaScript Editor and the Strategy Builder that can provide a good introduction.

Strategy Builder 301 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCyt90GAs9k

NinjaScript Editor 401 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BA0W4ECyVdc