Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Is it possible to submit two orders in Basic Entry simultaneously?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it possible to submit two orders in Basic Entry simultaneously?

Hi,

Sorry if this has already been documented clearly. I am still learning NT8.

I want to roll my position in NQ to the next expiration while minimizing the effects of any sudden price movements.

Pretend example:

I am long 1 contract NQ 12-19. It is now 12/12/2019 and I want to roll to my position to NQ 03-20. To do this manually, I would need to flatten then submit a market buy 1 NQ 03-20 in Basic Entry.

The problem with this is that I will be subject to random market moves in between me flattening my NQ 12-19 and buying my new NQ 03-20. If the market goes up a couple points in between those orders (takes about 5-10 seconds for me) then I will have lost out on that market move.

So, in summary, is it possible to submit these orders simultaneously: Sell 1 NQ 12-19, Buy 1 NQ 03-20?

Thank you.

Hello ShatteredX,

Thanks for posting to the forums.

One of the great features of NinjaTrader is its ability to manage multiple virtual positions in the same market. This allows you to manage a long and short position in the same market simultaneously.

Here is how this is accomplished:
    • Open 2 SuperDOMs or 2 Charts (with Chart Trader) and set them both to the same market
    • Right click in on of the order entry windows and select the menu "Properties"
    • Set the 'ATM Strategy selection mode' parameter to "DisplaySelectedAtmStrategyOnly"
    • Repeat the last two instructions on the second order entry window
    • Submit a buy order to open a long position in the first order entry window
    • Submit a sell order to open a short position in the second order entry window

In addition to these instructions, I suggest reviewing the content available in our Online Help Guide specific to this topic.