Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problem with add indicator SMA as Column in MarketAnalyzer

Hi Ninja Customer Service,

I'm new to NinjaTrader 8 this week, after several days of hands-on experience, I have to say: I'm loving it! The whole UI looks very neat and easy to use!

Here I have a question when working on MarketAnalyzer.

I created a MarketAnalyzer and am trying to add the indicator SMA as a new column. However, for some reason, I notice that the calculated value is incorrect, comparing to two other 3-rd party references.

My setting is shown in attachment Photo 1. As you can see, I'm trying to add a 9-day SMA on Daily close prices. When the "Time frame"->"Days back" is 1, as default, in the MarketAnalyzer, the data cell is empty, seems like no successful calculation.

Then, I tried to modify the Time frame"->"Days back" to 9, then the calculated 9-day SMA for AAPL on July-17 is $385.59, as shown in Photo 2, but according to TradingView and other website, the SMA9 daily should be $383.66 on July17th, and $382.38 on July 16th.

If I change the "Time frame"->"Days back" to 11, then the result changes to $383.45.

FYI, I have downloaded 2020 Year-To-Date historical daily data for AAPL.

Can you help let know what's going on here?

Thanks.

Forgot to mention, I'm using Interactive Broker as data provider.

Comment

Hello,

Thanks for writing in.

Having any settings different between the two indicators can cause the output of values to be different. To mitigate this you'll want to ensure as many of the values are identical between the TradingView chart and the NinjaTrader Market Analyzer.