Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stop Loss gaps

Hello, I hope this is the right place.

I have a Sim account. I have set a ATM Strategy with Stop Loss at 6 ticks.

If I trade futures in the Crude Oil market (CL) it works ok, but when I place orders in the MiniDow (YM) or in the E-mini-Nasdaq (NQ) markets my stops don't work most of the time and instead of losing 6 ticks I lose 7 ticks (in some cases even 8 ticks).

I place orders from 3:30 pm to 5:00 pm (EST). This issue happens both on renko charts and time based charts.

I'm not an expert, but I don't think these gaps are normal.

Anyone can help? Thank you in advance.

Hello Giodap,

Thank you for the question.

Are you using a Stop Market or Stop Limit order?
    • A Stop Market order will guarantee a fill, but it does not guarantee a price. So, you may experience the slippage you are mentioning as the market price is moving so fast that by the time the order fills, the price has moved further than expected
    • A Stop Limit order will guarantee a price, but it does not guarantee a fill. If the current price jumps beyond your price and limit, the order will not fill.
    Slippage can be expected within a volatile market as the price is moving quickly with a high volume of trades.

As mentioned above, you may try using Stop Limit orders to guarantee your orders fill at your desired price, but if you have the limit too small, it could jump over your order and not fill.

If you would like us to review a specific order, please:
    • Go to your Documents > NinjaTrader 8 (or 7) > Select your Log and Trace folders and send them to a Compressed folder
    • Then attach that compressed folder to an email to PlatformSupport(AT)NinjaTrader(DOT)com
    • Please include 2734972 ATTN Clayton G in your Subject Line
    Clayton G.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi Clayton, thank you for your time.

I place orders with a simple ATM Strategy (see link below)