Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Which way is the Futures Margin of error?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which way is the Futures Margin of error?

I'm new to day trading & NT, but not trading in general & I have a few questions about some rules & the platform. The most important questions for me at this time are "pertaining to the Futures Margin rule in place, how does it work exactly?" I've got the basics of it down(I guess), but my problem is that I work a fulltime day job & I want to trade after work in my spare time, going by the Margin rule, it states that after hours trading requires an Initial Margin(& what's the amount for ES futures, just to make sure that I'm on the right page?), but since I'm not trading(maybe logging on & looking) during normal business hours, does that rule still apply to my situation or does my normal after work hrs become my actual trading hrs? Also, I'm not looking to hold any contracts past my trading cycle(2 - 4 hrs), does that help or hurt my situation? Sorry if I didn't post this in the right area of the forum.

When the three margin conditions apply, and exceptions:

(Example times applicable to CME products with markets closed between 4:00 PM and 5:00 PM CT, excluding holidays. All times are US Central Time.)

Intraday Margin
    The broker Intraday Margin requirement applies to open positions during the current intraday session, between the 5:00 PM session start and the Intraday Margin end at 3:45 PM on the next day. Intraday Margin applies during this time period to new positions opened during the current session, and to existing open positions carried forward from a prior session.

Initial Margin