Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

setting a conditional stop loss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it possible to write an ATM strategy that involves a conditional stop loss?

How can I upon entry of a long or short position immediately set a stop loss when the following conditions are met:

1. set a stop loss to exit at the price of the previous 2 bar low.
    2. as price continues to move in the direction of the trade I would want the stop loss to adjust to that movement.

Can this be done as an ATM strategy. If so what would I use to do that? I am not a programer but would like to learn how to do this.

Thanks for any assistance you can offer.

Hello rexsole,

Are you trying to use Atm Strategy methods in a NinjaScript Strategy?

Or are you using SetStopLoss()?
    Chelsea B.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Chelsea

I haven't done either, trying to find out which way to go. I have attached a screen shot of what I would like to do. The chart is for ES 12/17. I'm using a Unirenko chart. I have placed an up arrow where I would have gone long and a down arrow where the trade would have closed out. If there is a two bar reversal of the trend I want to have the trade stopped out. So is this something that I can setup in Ninjatrader?
      Attached Files

Comment

Hello rexsole,

Yes, it would be possible to place an order as a stop loss and then modify the price of this to simulate trailing logic or breakeven movements.

Below is a link to a forum post with a few examples.
        Chelsea B.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Chelsea

Would it be possible to hire a Ninjatrade consultant to write the code for me?

Comment

Hello rexsole,