Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Requesting Help: MA Crossover Strategy from a Noobie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Requesting Help: MA Crossover Strategy from a Noobie

Hello. First, thank you for taking the time to read over my questions. I have been reading through this forum and a lot of it is very overwhelming for me (obviously I am not a coder by ANY stretch of the means!).

I have a basic MA crossover strategy (EMA 10/WMA 16) that I am satisfied with the backtesting results. I have a few questions, and again I sincerely apologize for how ignorant I am sounding and how ignorant I am being...however, that is why I am here! To talk to subject-matter experts.

Question 1: On the Strategy Analyzer, the "Max. Drawdown" row, is that to be understood that out of all of the theoretical trades the analyzer took, that is the number of Ticks a particular trade went before being closed out/or flipping back into profit? Meaning: Max. Drawdown = -7 (the largest drawdown would have been negative 7 ticks)?

Question 2: I used the Strategy Builder, and analyzed it on the Heiken Ashi 1 Minute chart. Again, I am satisfied with the results (net profit/gross loss). What must I do in order to make this strategy automated (i.e. click a few buttons, turn it on so it trades on its own, taking profits, etc.)?

Question 3: Is there a way I can include a trailing stop loss (say maybe 3 ticks in profit above price entry point once the trade goes 10 ticks in the positive) into my current strategy?

The problem I am running into is that when I turn the strategy on, it only takes losses ("order canceled") and it is not taking any wins.