Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How to create a false condition

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to create a false condition

Hello,

I notice when building conditions they are all (if Y is true, do X). I want to create a condition where (if Y is true, don't do X).

I am building a strategy where one of my conditions for order entry is the CCI indicator period 50 cannot be less than level -350 in the past 30 bars.

How do I create such a condition? I am also very new to ninjatrader and strategy building so please walk me through step by step.

Thanks so much!

Hello Cross161,

Thanks for your post.

I am assuming you are referring to the Strategy Builder, and not how you can check if a condition is false using C# in unlocked NinjaScript.

Action blocks will always be executed if the controlling condition evaluates to true.

You can consider creating a bool "AllowAction" (a variable that is true/false) and then setting that bool to false when your desired condition becomes true, and then in the Condition/Action set that triggers your action, simply check if the "AllowAction" bool is true for the action to be taken. When your desired condition is no longer true (opposite conditions occur) you can set the "AllowAction" bool back to true.

Bool variables can be made in the Inputs and Variables page of the Strategy Builder. They can then be referenced in a condition under "User variables" and can be set in an action under Misc > Set "AllowAction."

Please let us know if you have any additional questions.
    JimNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment