Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

First bar of session

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First bar of session

hello,

Newbie here. I am trying to build my first strategy and I need to set it up such a way that some action is happening based on the opening price of the session. I am using "First bar of session" but it doesn't work. When I set a comparison action vs. for example the Ask Price I get an error (in Strategy Builder). Anyone can help? Probably the "First Bar of Session" doesn't do what I think it should (get the opening price of the trading session).

Thanks

Hello space_trader,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

What instrument, bar type, bar size are you using?

What Trading hours are you using/expecting? (Look in the Data series window for "trading hours")

Are you intending to trade on the first bar of the session or do you want to save the Open price of the session into a variable to be used later?

What is the "Calculate" setting of the strategy?

Do you have any added data series?

In case you have not accessed the reference materials, here is a link to each. (This will not solve the questions, just wanted to make sure you know or had these for reference)
    Free live webinar every other Thursday at 4:00 PM EST, through this link to all webinars: https://ninjatrader.com/PlatformTraining
    Previous recording of the Strategy Builder 301 webinar: https://youtu.be/HCyt90GAs9k?list=PL...auWXkWe0Nf&t=2
    Help guide for the strategy builder: https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...gy_builder.htm
    Paul H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

hello Paul,

To answer your questions: