Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Entry at higher/lower than previous candle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entry at higher/lower than previous candle

Hi there,

that's my first post so i'm a newbie.
    I have a simple idea in my head that I can't convert into a strategy, even with the tutorial videos on youtube. I've been searching through this forum and couldn't find an answer to that.
    When I say new high/low, I mean the complete candle with its wicks, not only the close.

So here's the Idea: (instead of ticks/pips/whatever I say "steps" because I'm referring to the candle movement, not the actual price movement)

LONG:
    Everytime a new candle is made and its price goes above the last candles high (so it's defined as a new high) I'll go long and exit the position right away at the next step in profit.

SHORT:
    Everytime a new candle is made and its price goes below the last candles low (so it's defined as a new low) I'll go short and exit the position right away at the profit.

Additional thoughts:
    - It's important that a position is only opened once per candle and only if it reaches the high/low of the last candles high/low (again: body PLUS wicks/shadows)
    - StopLoss would be around 2 steps more than the profit. It's not a good win/lose ratio but it's way more probable that a candle goes even higher/lower as soon as it breaks the previous candles hi/lo.
    - The higher the time frame of the strategy, the bigger the wicks, the bigger chances of profittaking of every new high/low.

Explanation of my train of thought: