Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Strange behavior of protective orders on replay data - programming error, NT bug?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strange behavior of protective orders on replay data - programming error, NT bug?

Dear NinjaTrader Community,
    Dear NinjaTrader Developer Team,

I recently bought a license for NinjaTrader and after some training I have developed a daytrading and scalping strategy which is suitable for my purposes.

Since the manual execution of this strategy every five to ten minutes is very time-consuming, I would now like to automate this strategy. And since I am a C# programmer, I am currently working my way into the NinjaScript API and would like to develop a basic framework for my strategies.

Currently I am dealing with protective orders (stop loss, profit target, break even, trailing) and testing my code with the Playback Connection on downloaded historic data (market replay, historic). Unfortunately, my code leads to completely strange behavior on this data and I can't find a solution despite a lot of effort. I would be very grateful if you could help me.

Attached are three versions of my code. The first version uses the Built-In functions SetProfitTarget and SetStopLoss in the OnStateChange method. The second version uses these Built-In functions in the OnExecutionUpdate method. The third and my preferred version uses the fully configurable ExitLongStopMarket and ExitLongLimit methods in the OnExecutionUpdate method. In all versions the stop loss ticks are intitially 12 ticks and the profit target ticks are 20 ticks, but can be configured as desired via properties.