Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Most efficient user input [for controlling Long/Short/Neither]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Most efficient user input [for controlling Long/Short/Neither]

First of all I want to thank every single member of the NT team. I don't think a lot of people realize how insanely unique and valuable it is that you guys are here helping people with their coding.

I am a discretionary trader and I've recently managed to get a basic version of a script put together that handles trade entry and management.

Because my systematic entries are based on levels and orderflow that I interpret discretionarily, I need to control which side (long/short) the script will take as well as none at all.

Currently I need to open the strategy settings and manually type "LONG/SHORT/NEITHER" to control which side to allow the script to take (if either).

I was wondering what options exist that I may explore to make this more efficient.

One thing that comes to mind would be having buttons on the chart itself. I'm not sure how difficult that would be, and before I start investing time into that route I wanted to ask the team/community if there are other routes that might be worth looking at as in addition to or instead of buttons?

Even a drop-down menu would be a step improved from having to type into the settings. Ideally I'd like to not be required to open the strategy settings at all but that's still better than typing.

Thanks again for your help so far!
    Last edited by butt_toast; 07-22-2021, 12:22 PM.

Hello butt_toast,