Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Strategy Builder- Plot Value ALWAYS 0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy Builder- Plot Value ALWAYS 0

I am new to NT8 strategy builder and I am having a REALLY hard time. I want to get the high/low values of a rectangle built by the indicator.

This indicator prints a rectangle around the highest & lowest price points in a given time period (the time period is an input to the indicator)

I have added plots to the indicator so I could use the values in the strategy builder to build the conditional logic.

When I select the plot value in the strategy builder and I use the print function to get the value, the value is ALWAYS 0. No matter what I do the value is always 0. But when I look at the indicator plotted on the chart, I see the hi & low plotted on the screen.

Attached is the 3rd party indicator I used to edit & add plot. The plots appear on my chart so I know they are working.
    How do I get the value to display in the strategy builder? Do I need to use the bars ago option in the builder, I didn't think I did?

I would really appreciate assistance. I need the values (high & low) to properly build the conditions to enter a trade.
    I've searched all over the forums and I can't seem to find the issue. Really lost & a bit frustrated
    Attached Files
    Last edited by iamkmckinney; 01-16-2022, 08:52 AM.

Hello iamkmckinney,

I would recommend adding prints to the script to see on what bars the plot value is being set in the indicator, and print in the strategy the time of the bar and value of the indicator plot.

From peering at the code, it does not appear the plot is set on every bar.