Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Reusing code in a Strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reusing code in a Strategy

I am new to programming, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would like to set aside a block of code to reuse numerous times in a strategy. I guess a subroutine.

As an example, I would like to call on this code in different places within my strategy.

ToTime(Time[0]) >= ToTime(6, 45, 0)
    && ToTime(Time[0]) < ToTime(12, 30, 0)
    && MACD(12, 26, 9).Diff[1] > 0
    && Open[0] == 0.005
    && Close[1] < 3

My questions are:

1) Where do I place this code in the strategy structure
    2) How is it named/referenced for multiple usages?

Thanks!

Hello ArmKnuckle,

Thank you for your inquiry.

If you're wanting to reuse a block of code over and over again in a strategy, what you could do is create your own custom method.

I would suggest taking a look at this link for more information about creating methods in C# (NinjaScript is based off of C#): http://www.csharp-station.com/Tutorial/CSharp/Lesson05

If you would like to create a custom method, make sure it is outside of the OnBarUpdate() method, but still contained within the class.

I'm not quite sure what you would like to do with your code, however, here is a simple method, with a return type of bool, that will return true if the statement you provided is true or false if the statement is false.

Code:
    private bool ThisIsAMethod() // you can name the method anything you want. "ThisIsAMethod" is just an example
    {
         if (ToTime(Time[0]) >= ToTime(6, 45, 0)
    	&& MACD(12, 26, 9).Diff[1] > 0
    	&& Open[0] == 0.005
    	&& Close[1] < 3) // if this is true, return true